top of page

A Haunting

So, my last post was a bit of flash fiction originally written on Wattpad and was my first attempt at a 'ghost' story, and I'm quite happy with it. The atmosphere and ending turned out just how I had imagined it, with this short tale it definitely helped having had some experience with the subject matter first hand... (cue thunder and lightning!)

Several years ago when I was around eighteen, my parents house experienced some incidents. I won't go into everything that happened here, I'll just stick to the things that directly filled me with utter fear!

The first odd thing experienced was the bangs, loud 'make the house vibrate' bangs. Over the period of one night on five or six occasions it would happen, one single, large bang. It sounded like it was on the side of the house, as though someone was outside hitting the wall with something very heavy, yet there was never anybody there. 

It took a few weeks, if memory serves, before anything else happened but then the sightings began. It was never anything blatant and in your face but subtle, corner of your eye sort of thing and always walking past the stairs. On several occasions while walking through the hallway to the kitchen we saw, or at least think we saw, someone on the landing at the top of the stairs but when you turned to look, there was no one there. This happened a lot and although it wasn't necessarily scary it was definitely a bit weird.

For me, things started to get dodgy a little while later. I would often go downstairs in the middle of the night to get a drink or something to eat but as it was always late, I'd never put the light on in case I disturbed anyone. It was during these times I would sometimes experience something a bit off. While nearing the bottom of the stairs there would be something there or would at least seem like there was something there. Now obviously I appreciate being in a dark environment could allow your eyes to play tricks on you but during these moments I had to hold my hands out in front of myself to stop from walking into whatever may had been there! There was a definite outline of a figure stood in the gloom and it would freak me out! 

Ever been chased or followed by someone? If so you'd know how unsettling and scary that can be. What about being chased or followed by something you can't see? That's bordering on disturbing! You see, during my night time visits to the kitchen, (whether I had a near miss with a shadow or not) I would always get a horrible, almost tangible feeling of being chased back up the stairs - made no odds if the light was on or not, and I can honestly say it was extremely unsettling. I could feel my heart race, the adrenalin pumping around my body and a very real sense of panic; it genuinely felt like something was coming up after me, but there was never anything there.

Now, loud noises aside, I'm more than aware a lot of people would explain these perhaps, minor incidences on all sorts of things but one thing happened which did genuinely terrify me; almost to the point of paralysing me in my bed. I'm not sure of the time but it was very late at night, I'd turned my light off and walked back to my bed (I didn't have a lamp in my room so had to rely on the main light.) As you do, I stretched out in my bed before getting comfortable which was when I felt it - my foot met an obstacle about two thirds of the way down my bed, something was on it! Initially I thought it was the cat before remembering she wasn't in my room, then I thought maybe my computer chair was pushed up against the bed, but it would of had to of been on the bed to achieve what I felt. A cold shiver passed through my entire body, and my foot shot back up the bed pretty quick! Unsure if I'd imagined the whole thing, I slowly stretched out again, it was still there. This was the point I started to feel real panic, a very intense fear washed over me. Something was on my bed that should not of been there. 

If you know me well you'd know I'm a huge fan of everything scary - computer games, books, films and everything else. I want to feel that fear, I want to be frightened. I'm always looking for that one thing which really makes me feel it. That night I did, embarrassing as it is to admit it, I felt like a little boy again. I wanted to cry and shout for mum, the fear really was that intense but I couldn't do anything apart from close my eyes and wish for sleep, which eventually came.

That was the last thing that happened to me in that house, my parents were christians so got some of their friends from the church in to pray over the house. From what I understand they felt a presence leave, in my room in particular...


Everything above is to the best of my memory 100% true, I don't expect people to think it was a haunting or believe any of it at all. But the events of those times have made me believe in the paranormal all the more and most importantly allowed me to feel certain emotions I can hopefully draw from in my own writing.

So what about you? What's your opinions on my story? On the paranormal in general or maybe you even have your own stories to tell. Please comment below.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page